top of page

Minimum Wage in Nevada

The following was provided by Stacey Walter of Faith Lutheran Academy.

Nevada's current minimum wage is $8.25 per hour. Nevada's minimum wage can be reduced to $7.25 per hour for employees who are provided a qualifying health plan by their employer. Nevada's minimum wage can be adjusted yearly based on inflation (effective each July), and was raised to $8.25 in 2010.

Further the weekly minimum wage for a 40 hour per week employee is $3,300 per week. While the yearly minimum is $17,160 per year.

Nevada employers may not pay you under $8.25 per hour unless you or your occupation are specifically exempt from the minimum wage under state or federal law.

  • Nevada Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 - Federal law allows any employer in Nevada to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment.

  • Nevada Student Minimum Wage - $7.01 - Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Nevada minimum wage (as little as $7.01 per hour) for up to 20 hours of work per week at certain employers (such as work-study programs at universities).

  • Nevada Tipped Minimum Wage - See Here - Employees who earn a certain amount of tips every month may be paid a lower cash minimum wage, but must earn at least $8.25 including tips every hour. For more details, read about the Nevada tipped minimum wage.

One more funky rule for NV….

Effective July 1, 2015, Nevada State Law entitles employees whose time and a half wages are less than $10.88 per hour and who receive Essential Health Benefits (EHB) to be paid overtime whenever they work more than 8 hours in a consecutive 24-hour period. The same applies for employees who do not receive qualified health benefits but whose time and a half wages are less than $12.38 per hour

bottom of page